Electric Avenue

I really like this comment by Mule Motorcycles‘ Richard Pollock (I assume, not his envoy) on The Kneeslider‘s heated blog-comment discussion about the future of electric motorcycles.

I always like to see new stuff. I don’t always like it and most times I ask why right off the bat! Is it better? Is it faster? Does it look better? Is it lighter? I almost never even care if it goes further on a tank of gas or if I can ride it accross country in comfort in all kinds of weather. That’s just me though. The first time I started seeing pictures of electric bikes, I thought they were a bad joke. They looked like a window air-conditioner with wheels. But I can correct bad looks, so that wasn’t a big concern to me. However, I did ask all the usual questions. Is it better? No. Is it faster? No. Do they look better? Big-time NO! Are they lighter? Big no there too. So why bother? Because they don’t use gas? Ok, I’m listening, talk to me. Well, it seems there is some huge potential in the area of big-time torque and power. That sounds interesting. How much battery does it require and how often do I have to charge it? There’s the rub. Oh, and here’s another. I know jack about sophisicated controllers and frictionless motors and Li-Po batteries. I’m a mechanical guy, not a nerd. And frankly, handing over my life’s passion and 40 years I have invested in learning everything I could about it to a bunch of keyboard jockeys doesn’t appeal to me. Where will I fit in? What will I tweak or tune or modify? What will I do with all the crap I’ve accumulated over the years? Who do these electric guys think they’re messin’ with?

Well that’s one half of my brain talkin’. The other side is sayin’, “Hot dam! New stuff to learn! New! Different! Change! Out with old stuff, get out the dam way, comin’ through!” So then I think about it and think about it and realize all this cool new potential and big possibilities are just starting to be developed and I’m gonna have to be patient to see how it plays out. The do all, end all electric bike replacement for all juice burners are still a ways off. No problem, I’ve got time, I’ve not in any hurry. When it happens, it happens

This is what I meant to say:

“It’s not the critic who counts:not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles or where the doer of deeds could have done better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the areana, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood, who strives valiantly, who errs and comes up short again and again, because there is no effort without error or shortcoming, but who knows the great enthusiasms, the great devotions, who spends himself for a worthy cause; who, at the best, knows, in the end, the triumph of high acheivement, and who at the worst, if he fails, at least he fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who knew neither victory nor defeat.”

One thought on “Electric Avenue

  1. Well said! I think you’ve captured the essence of it. I’m really amazed at how emotionally charged the debate on this topic is. But, we’re not talking politics, religion, or personal freedom — we’re just talking about a new motorcycle technology that’s really just in its infancy. We’ve only scratched the surface. Where will it take us? Will it go anywhere? Will it start a revolution, or will it fizzle. I will watch with interest.

Leave a Reply

